7 comments on “Miss Saigon | Theatre Review

  1. Fantastic review! I have a lot of mixed feelings about Miss Saigon… I first discovered it many years ago and instantly fell in love with the music and story, but it’s one of those things where I like it more on a nostalgic/sentimental level than on an intellectual one. So I completely concur with your criticisms of the story. But I’m glad you mostly enjoyed it regardless!

    But it’s interesting that you dislike sung-through musicals, because I’m the opposite! For me it feels cornier and more unbelievable when actors are having a spoken conversation and then burst into choreographed song and dance, than when the music is ingrained into the narrative? For some reason it actually helps me suspend my disbelief when music is already built into the logic of the story. But as you say, it’s totally a personal preference thing. And it definitely varies on a show by show basis for me… my two favorite musicals are Les Mis and Merrily We Roll Along – Les Mis is sung-through, Merrily is not, and each works so well with its own method, I can see the pros and cons of each style.

    • That’s a very good point, and I can totally get that. I’ve seen so few musicals (on stage and on screen) that I definitely need to try more to see which style works best overall for me. So far, I’d definitely say non sung-through, but that’s based purely on loving two that aren’t. Interestingly though, they both explain the musical numbers in the story: Singin’ in the Rain is about a film studio making a musical, so the majority of the songs are in-universe ones; and Dancer in the Dark (the Björk movie) makes it clear that the musical sections take place purely in the main character’s head, as she uses music like daydreams to escape the stresses of her life.

      Like you, I think I’d find it really cheesy if the songs didn’t make sense in terms of the narrative, and actors suddenly burst into a dance routine with no explanation.

      It’ll be interesting to see how I feel about the comparison between the two styles as I try out more examples of both!

      • That totally makes sense when you explain it like that. It’s definitely key that the music serves some kind of purpose beyond the creative team just feeling like setting the story to music. You could argue that Miss Saigon kind of falls into that trap – the integration of music is never really justified or terribly necessary to the narrative? I’ve never minded it or even thought about it critically before because I like a lot of the musical numbers in MS and I think the music does heighten a lot of the show’s powerful moments, but I imagine if you go into the show not knowing much about it, ‘why are they singing everything’ could be a legitimate question that you take away from it. I honestly think they only chose to make it as a musical because it’s adapted from the opera Madama Butterfly, so the musical medium seemed like a logical step.

        • That’s a very good point, and I’m all the more keen to see Madama Butterfly now that I’ve seen Miss Saigon.

          The more I reflect on it, the more I see its merits, so I think a little more experience of musicals in general will go a long way to helping me get into the swing of them.

  2. Pingback: Blogs You Should Be Following – Inside My Library Mind

Leave a comment