4 comments on “Let’s Recommend | Character Studies

  1. Brilliant post! I’ve only read Burial Rites from this list, but it’s one of my absolute favorites. The rest of these have already been on my radar, but I’m really looking forward to picking them up, especially The Dumb House.

    I love character study novels, and incidentally, all of my favorite ones I can think of off the top of my head are a million pages long: A Little Life, Of Human Bondage, Jane Eyre… I guess I like spending a lot of time inside characters’ heads.

    • Thank you; glad you enjoyed it! It’s true that a lot of good character studies seem to be really long and yet ironically most of these are a fair bit shorter. I guess subconsciously I’m all the more impressed when an author manages to really examine and develop a character in a relatively short book.

Leave a Reply

