10 comments on “July Wrap Up

  1. Wow! Impressive as always, Callum. I didn’t know that Pinocchio was based on a book, but then I suppose most of Disney’s early works were.

    My favorite non-fiction read for July was “Jeffrey Gitmoer’s Little Red Book of Selling”, which I highly recommend as a motivator for anyone who has an aspect of sales in their work life. When I’m reading Gitomer, I get to work earlier and I have more enthusiasm. His ideas are tested and proven by time. When I apply them, I see results. I have read his books before, and I certainly will read more of them.

    My favorite fiction read for July was “Who’s That In The Cat Pajamas” by Sojourner McConnell. It is a children’s chapter book about a fairy named Dolcey who fulfills her calling for the first time when she helps a sad young girl adjust to news that her family is moving. I loved the story, and even sent a copy of it to my great niece for her birthday.

    • I don’t think I was aware that Pinocchio came from a book when I was a child either. In fact, I only discovered it when looking through the works of illustrator Robert Ingpen and saw it was one of the classics he had penned artwork for – so, of course, that was the edition I picked up.

      Glad to hear you discovered some good reads this month, Gina 🙂

  2. My reading theme this month came by accident–books I resisted reading because they were too popular! I never read any Alexander McCall Smith because I thought he was for little old ladies. I picked up The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency for a quarter at a book sale, held on to it for six months, then read it this month–what a delight! Why didn’t anyone mention that this is the start of a terrific series? Why didn’t I know that the amazing singer Jill Scott stars in an HBO version of these books? I clearly gotta get out more! Next I read the Michael Lewis book The Blind Side. I have only seen the ads for the film and thought it looked awful–sentimental, white, noblesse oblige, football motivational junk. Even though I have zero interest in football, stats, or the south, I ended up reading this in a couple days due to Lewis’ style and the interweaving of Michael Oher’s early life as mystery. I knew nothing about Oher, so after I finished I had to look up if he became big time NFL. Two days ago a story was posted about him having a concussion and the fear that at 31 he might be done and one day end up in the recent statistical log about those with CTE. My big take away this month is you never know what relationship you might end up in with a book–sometimes the fans are right! On a separate note, I have tried to read The Handmaid’s Tale two or three times and always stop. The ideas may be amazing in it, but something bars me from jumping in on the love for the book. Thanks for the new reading ideas. I’m off to read Chuck P.’s Pygmy now.

    • It’s always a great feeling to pick up something we’ve put off for a while and end up being presently surprised by it.

      I can understand what you mean about The Handmaid’s Tale. I love the themes/ideas, but something kept me at arms length the whole time, so I just couldn’t properly connect with it the way I hoped.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Wow, what an excellent month of reading, especially given that you took a trip this month. Vacationing always cuts down on my reading time quite a lot.

    I’ve just added the Jo Cox biography to my TBR, her death was so devastating and I’d love to learn more about her.

    • I’m surprised I got through as much as I did, to be honest, as I didn’t read at all for the five nights I was away. I suppose I made up some of the lost time during the flights there and back though.

      I highly recommend it. I think Brendan Cox did a great job of presenting her in a very real way, triumphs, flaws and all. He gave a wonderful insight into Jo as a human being as much as he did the impact and aftermath of her death, which I really appreciated.

  4. That’s an impressive month of reading! I loved Handmaid’s tale too. The miniseries was excellent if you haven’t seen it yet. My favorite book this month was Jacqueline Woodson’s Brown Girl Dreaming.

  5. I might have to check out ‘Jo Cox: More In Common’ at some point. Like you say, it’s good that she hasn’t been portrayed as a victim. No one – her husband, her parents, even the media – portrayed her in that light. She was a hard-working, much-loved woman and I think remembering those qualities do her memory better justice than focusing on the circumstances of her death.
    I keep meaning to read ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ too. Since the TV series came out, it’s been all over WP!

    • I’d been meaning to pick up The Handmaid’s Tale for ages and it was actually the buzz around the TV show that finally pushed me to get to it, so I’m grateful for that!

      As for Jo Cox: More in Common, I highly recommend it. It does a fantastic job of portraying the woman she was, not just the story she became. And as a lovely extra aside, all of Brendan’s profits go to the foundation that was set up in Jo’s name to continue fighting for the causes she was passionate about.

Leave a Reply

