6 comments on “January Wrap Up

  1. So glad to hear that you enjoyed And Then There Were None! I’ve read that novel countless times and each visit makes me love the story even more. It’s dark and twisted, but expertly crafted and impossible to put down. My favorite read of January was probably Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, mostly because I was not expertly to love it nearly as much as I ended up adoring it.

    • I totally agree! I don’t know how I managed to avoid reading any Christie before now, but at least it means I’ve got plenty to enjoy catching up on.

      Milk and Honey is great; simple and relatable yet powerful in a raw way. Glad you liked it 🙂

  2. Cliche or not, I was thinking the same thing today! I had so many resolutions at the beginning of 2017 and I suddenly thought today “Oh crap, that’s one month down the drain!”

    It seems like you’ve read some awesome books this month. I’m liking the sounds of Agatha Christie’s ‘And then there were none’. I think I can name a couple of movies which obviously drew influence from that. I’ll definitely have to give it a read sometime!

    As for ‘Being a beast’, kudos to you for managing even 100 pages. It sounds absolutely horrendous! I agree completely with you. Some people are just so desperate to prove their supposed ‘quirkiness’ and will go to any ridiculous lengths to try and prove it.

    My favourite reads this month were ‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness and ‘Signal to Noise’ by Silvia Moreno-Garcia 🙂

    • Yeah, I think Christie’s work has been a major influence for a lot of modern mysteries. I’m excited to read more of her work – and that’s the good thing about being so late to the bandwagon, she wrote loads so I’m spoilt for choice as to what to read next!

      I’m glad you enjoyed A Monster Calls, I still have such fond memories of it as well 🙂

  3. I liked And Then There Were None too. Christie is so great. What did you think of the Peter S Beagle book? I recently watched the film and read the book, and I wasn’t sure what to make of them. I’m curious to know your thoughts.

    • I loved the film when I was little but it was my first time reading the book. It felt nostalgic because it reminded me of the film and my childhood love for it, so I enjoyed it for that, but I’m not sure how enamoured I would have been if I experienced it for the first time now.

Leave a Reply

