13 comments on “Top Reads of 2016

  1. What a great list, Callum! Now I have a reference list of top books to choose from when I need inspiration. I’m also curious to see what other bloggers chose as their top books and which books crossed over.

    I’m daunted by the idea of choosing a top ten, but I think it would be entertaining and revealing to do one. Hats off to you!

  2. My favourite read of the year was defo “Visions of Zarua”. It made me feel that classical fantasy vibe, I was missing and craving for so long.
    Happy New Year to you, and may it be 200 million times better and more joyous than 2016 was!

  3. Pingback: A Bookish Year in Review & 2017 Goals | Callum McLaughlin

  4. I loved The Crane Wife! I haven’t read anything else by Ness, but I’ll have to keep an eye out. Now it looks like I have even more books to add to my crazy list–The Book Collector in particular looks great.

    • I’m a big fan of Ness but The Crane Wife is definitely up there amongst my favourites of his work.

      The Book Collector has really stayed with me as well. If you like gothic reads and fairy tales, I think you’ll enjoy it 🙂

      Thanks for your comment.

    • I know what you mean in that too much hype can make you have unrealistically high expectations. Thankfully I read Bird Box before hearing much hype so was able to go into it on a neutral basis, which is part of why I ended up being so impressed, I think.

      I loved it though. I thought it was atmospheric, chilling and raised interesting questions. I read it more than a year ago and still find myself thinking about it regularly, so I guess that speaks for itself 🙂

      • I like those kind of books. a few years ago I’ve read A. J. Cronin’s keys to the kingdom and I was really sour about it because it was on a christian based story but it was so good that I had to read something else from the author so I’ve read Citadel and ever since I’m hunting down his works. but I get really scared of hyped books because I dnf-ed all the bright places by Jennifer Niven, and I feel like I’ll drop Rainbow Rowell’s fangirl even tho I’m only on like page 17? so I really have to have a good expectations before I go into something newly released.

        • Yeah, I’ve been burned by hype in the past too so if a book is getting loads of attention, I usually try and wait a few months before I pick it up so things will have calmed down and I can hopefully be a bit more level-headed going into it 🙂

          • hm, I usually just stay away from those who get paid to advertise so I don’t really have to feel pressured. like, for example with the new Harry Potter book. everyone hauled it and raved about it but when they read it they were disappointing because its not only Rowling who wrote it so naturally there’s a little different taste to it. I haven’t gotten around to it yet because I refuse to spend 30 bucks on 1 book.

Leave a Reply

