9 comments on “November Wrap Up

  1. Ooh, do you already have your festive reads in mind? Is there a favourite you go back to at this time of year? Your total is mighty impressive, and such a varied selection, too 🙂

    • I’m planning to read The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher soon for a bit of festive fun. I’m also hoping to try and pick up the new collection of Christmas themed short stories by Jeanette Winterson, and Letters from Father Christmas by Tolkien.

      Around this time last year I read the first of the illustrated Harry Potters and I’ve been saving the second one for this coming month, so I’m hoping to make that a bit of a tradition as each one comes out 🙂

      Do you have any specific reads planned?

      • That sounds like an excellent tradition to start. Tom’s book will be on my list too because my nephew loves his books and I love reading to him. Other than that I’m not really sure… I haven’t done nearly enough reading so might go on the hunt for a Christmas themed reading bonanza! 🙂

        • I’m such a mood reader that I don’t tend to pick up seasonal things very often but this year it’s worked out nicely that I just seem to be really in the mood for festive books at the moment 😛

          Sounds good! I hope you and your nephew both enjoy it 🙂

  2. I read four books in November! The non-fiction book I’m reading is “Jeffrey Gittomer’s Little Platinum Book of Cha-Ching”. In it he recommends cutting out some television time to exchange for reading. Like I needed the push! Okay, maybe I did. Thank you, Gittomer.
    My favorite of the four was “Festive In Death” by J.D. Robb, simply because the author mentioned Reiki in it! I read that she had an energy healer at her Girl’s Night event at Turn The Page last month. I have so much admiration for Robb as a person, and now it seems we have more in common than ever. I also read “Obsession In Death” which put my mind at ease that I am not dangerous to the author, lol.
    I read a poetry collection! “Leaf” by Joanne Van Leerdam. I enjoyed it very much,. I thought of you and my good friend Lynn Burton as I read through the poems, because the two of you read a lot more poetry collections than I do.
    December is already promising since I cut out that extra TV time.
    We have a holiday tradition where we read “The Sweet Smell of Chrismtas” which is a scratch n’ sniff story about a bear family getting ready for Chrismtas. “The Night Before Christmas” and “Olive The Other Reindee” complete our Christmas Eve reading. We snuggle together with hot drinks as we read, and then we put out cookies and milk for Santa. The reindeer get carrots. Then we’re off to bed to wait for Christmas morning. On the day we have a birthday sweet for the baby Jesus. We also celebrate Yule where we meditate and help each other prepare spiritually for the coming year.
    Those are our bookish traditions for December. This year my daughter will be reading to my granddaughter and hopefully forming the same happy memories my children have.

Leave a Reply

