11 comments on “Women in Fiction | Ellen Ripley

  1. Excellent choice, and a great new feature. Ripley has to be one of my favourites – she made a kickass female lead! I’ll look forward to the other gloriously strong women you showcase 🙂

  2. ‘Ripley evolves from a weary survivor to a hardened, passionate warrior’. That sentence was so spot on Callum. Can’t stress how much I love Ripley.

  3. Thank you for liking “Escape” and “Transition.” I like your perspective on Ripley in Aliens. I thought of her as a survivor too, but I did not notice her maternal role as a protector of the orphaned girl until you pointed it out. I agree that she is a great example of a strong and feminine character, and I like that the filmmakers took the time to develop her character so that we could see these traits in her. Lately it seems like the strength of a character in a film (male or female) is mainly determined by fighting ability and body count.

Leave a Reply

