10 comments on “Let’s Recommend | Mental Health

  1. Another great topic! I have a great recommendation! I first read it as a requirement for my degree in holistic nutrition. The class was called PSYC2 – Mind-Body Connection. I got an A in that class. In case you’re wondering, my memory is good, but it’s not as detailed as the information I’m sharing here. I looked at my transcript. The A was awarded on August 6, 2005. Wow. It does and does not feel like that long ago.

    Ah, yes, the point. The book is excellent! It is called “Healing the Mind the Natural Way: Nutritional Solutions to Psychological Problems” by Pat Lazarus. I still have my copy as a reference. I consider it a must have if you’re practicing holistic nutrition or for anyone living with a diagnosed challenge.

    Another good one is “The Mood Cure” by Julia Ross. M.D. So many challenges can be balanced through food, lifestyle and supplementation. “The Mood Cure| is very easy to read.

  2. Some lovely recommendations. I don’t have anything in particular to recommend, though The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath is a good one. I guess it is somewhat of a tradition to reflect mental health in fiction and a lot of it is negative, if somewhat realistic in terms of perceptions of the illness. But I find that, more and more, fiction is taking what society perceives as a ‘problem’ and flipping it on its head. Your recommendations shine a light on the positive ways literature can impact readers and hopefully make a difference. From someone struggling personally at the moment, that is really important 🙂

    • You’re absolutely right, there’s definitely sill a stigma surrounding mental health, but I think we’ve definitely seen the beginning of a shift towards a more compassionate, open-minded and tolerant approach, and better representation in literature is partly responsible 🙂

      Given how many people experience a mental health problem (or know someone who does), I hope we continue to see a wider general understanding of why it’s not something to be swept under the carpet.

Leave a Reply

