34 comments on “Bookshop Bucket List

  1. Another great idea, Callum!

    My bucket list is short, but there are two items on in that involve bookshops. One is to visit Turn The Page in Maryland. The store is owned by Nora Roberts’ husband and I believe it is the only store that carries every single title she has publshed! What a treat that would be to see! While in Boonsboro, I would love to stay at Nora Roberts’ Inn Boonsboro and have pizza in her son’s restaurant!

    The second bookshop I would love to visit is the one I plan to include in the physical version of The Reiki Cafe. We’ll carry uplifting titiles about personal growth, Reiki, alternative healing and of course my own titles! We’ll have a tea selection, fair trade coffeee, Thrive Life smoothiies, baked goods by My Thrive Bakery (my daughter). There will be classrooms and treatment rooms for my teachers and students. Most definitely we will have a Thrive Life grocery in there as well. I see the store in my mind all the time!

    • Turn The Page must have rather a lot of shelf space to carry Nora Roberts’ entire works! She’s quite the prolific writer.

      You paint a lovely picture of your Reiki bookshop. I think many a bookworm has pictured their own ideal place to browse books. Perhaps that’s even a blog post for another day 😊

  2. Wow they all look so amazing! I’ve never really thought about going to special bookshops, I normally just buy my books second hand online. I did go to a pretty special bookshop (library really) once, it was called ‘The Soup Library’ and had that sort of cluttered layout and they gave you soup (the best soup ever) and you could just sit in this cosy camper van and read with your soup. Actually I’ve been inside a couple of trailer/camper van bookshops when I think of it, all the camper vans are normally linked together. I love the cosy feel of a small scale bookshop or library, although those spacious ones in London and Iceland look amazing too! Great post 🙂

  3. Mr B’s in Bath is one of my favourites. It’s really cosy, aesthetically pleasing and with super-knowledgeable (and friendly) staff. They even have a ‘reading spa’ – I’d totally recommend a visit, if you’re ever in the South West! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Well I now have a new plan on how to get broke – Michael Anthony Benavidez

  5. This summer, hopefully, I am travelling to Paris and Venice. Shakespeare & Co. is already on my list. The one I am really looking forward to visit is Libreria Acqua Alta. It is a beautiful antique bookshop in Venice. You have to check it out!

    • It’s amazing how much of Icelandic culture is centred around literature and storytelling. I can’t wait to go back so I can learn more and explore some more bookshops.

      And I quite agree about Shakespeare and Co. 😉

  6. Wow! These book ships all sound amazing and now my bookish bucket list is growing too. I have a think about finding book shops in every community I visit. There are just so many amazing ones out there.

  7. Thank you for liking “Happy First Day of Summer.” Nice post! 🙂 I did not know that Icelanders love literature so much and that Iceland has so many bookstores. I have not seen the inside of a bookstore for many years, and sadly I don’t have any recommendations for bookshops to add to your list. Most of the bookstores that I have gone to are ones that were located here in Sacramento, and most of them shut down years ago. Now if I really want to buy a book, I usually order it through Amazon because I don’t have many other convenient options available here.

    I doubt I will ever go there, but the wall-to-wall bookcases crammed with books at Shakespeare and Company make me miss reading. 🙂

  8. Pingback: A Tick On My Bookshop Bucket List | Callum McLaughlin

Leave a Reply

