19 comments on “May Wrap Up

  1. My favourite read has to be The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, it’s shifted itself into one of my favourite books of all time. Wishing you a wonderful June!

  2. I was surprised to see that I read five books in May. That’s a lot for me. I usually average two books in a month. My favorite was “Head Rush” by Carolyn Crane. “Head Rush” is the final novel in the Disillusionist trilogy I started last month. Lucky for me there are still two more novellas in the series I haven’t read yet.

    I’m a bit jealous that you fell so deeply in love with “Church of Marvels”, because I always want a book to sweep me away like that. Not to worry, though. Soon I’ll be catching up on my J.D. Robb’s. She always transports me.

    • It’s the most wonderful feeling falling for a book, isn’t it?

      Well done for having such a productive May. Here’s hoping June is another good reading month for us both 😊

      • Yes, here’s to a good June for all of us.

        My daughter and I are enrolling my granddaughter, Lilli, in the library’s summer reading program, where they expect us to read 45 books to her over the next two months.Lilli is one year old and already loves books. I read two books to her a day on average, and because she loves to read them more than once, maybe it’s more like six books!

  3. How did you get on with Miranda Hart’s book and Salt to the Sea? I’ve been wanting to read them for a while! My favourite reads this month were definitely the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series by Ransom Riggs.

    • I enjoyed Miranda’s book because I’m a fan of her but I suspect the audio book will be better, since it’s written in direct address and has a lot of quirky Miranda-isms.

      I really enjoyed Salt to the Sea. Sepetys does a good job of making her characters likeable and engaging, whilst educating about a lesser known aspect of the war.

      I picked up the first book in Riggs’ series this week actually, so it’s good to know you enjoyed them so much 😊

  4. I love that ‘steals away a piece of your heart’ – that’s so true. I’ve been lucky recently in terms of the books I’ve chosen and of course there are always those favourites we rely on – the ones we return to time an again. I’m glad you are still meeting your reading goals, and by sharing them, you introduce us to a diverse number of treasures just waiting to be discovered 🙂

Leave a Reply

