18 comments on “August in Books

  1. Oh man. I don’t think I will ever read the Song of Fire and Ice series. It’s just too much for me. Plus I haven’t watched the TV show so there isn’t much appeal or allure there for me.

    I don’t think I’ve completed a single book this month, but I guess we won’t know that until I post my August wrap up, now will we? :]

    • I haven’t seen the show either but I thought I’d give the books a shot. I loved the first one but I read it right at the start of the month and I haven’t had the motivation to pick the second one up yet – they’re just so bloody huge! 😛

      I think you might like The Rental Heart by Kirsty Logan though come to think of it. It’s a short story collection loosely inspired by fairy tales but they have some dark themes and lots of LGBT content, plus I love Logan’s writing style.

    • She’s a Scottish writer who draws a lot on fairy tales and mythology. I read her novel, The Gracekeepers, last month and fell in love with it!

      She’s just brought out a new short story collection as well and I was lucky enough to get hold of the limited edition hardback version (one of only a thousand copies), so I’m looking forward to checking it out soon 🙂

      I hope you’ve been enjoying your recent reads 🙂

Leave a Reply

