18 comments on “Too Many Books?

  1. I just buy too many books that i have no chance reading in the near future.
    But knowing just how many good books you have waiting for you in your nightstand is surely a great feeling .

  2. I have that problem too. I think we could solve all of our problems by opening a used book store. It’s the only solution! 🙂

  3. I don’t think I have too many books, but I may be alone in my opinion!

    I now buy, or borrow, as ,I read. I still have an exciting amount of adventures waiting for me from when I used to buy ahead of time.

    • I think that’s another reason I like to make sure I have plenty of books waiting for me, as if ever I can’t get more for a while, I know I’ll still have plenty to keep me going 🙂

  4. The bigger my to-read shelf is, the happier I am! Even when I don’t get to read this or that book for a long time (sometimes years), knowing they are within reach brings comfort and inspiration. 🙂

  5. I do this so easily now with my Kindle, over buy – is that possible? Course my husband thought it was brilliant to save our bookshelf space, but now I do both but try to limit the physical books. 😊

  6. “I’ve definitely learned this year that the more books I have to get through, the more motivated I feel to keep picking them up.” AMEN BROTHER. I am far too acquainted with buying too many books. I’ve cut back a lot this year, but I love looking at my books and being like “I feel like reading… YOU!”

    I tried TBRs. They just don’t work for me. I’m too much of a mood reader. I can maybe make it through one book on a TBR, but if I get through that, it’s a miracle and getting past that is just like… basically not possible haha.

    To the addicted!

    • YES, I’m exactly the same. The more I tell myself to read a specific book, the more my brain seems to crave anything but that particular story. So I’m definitely a mood reader as well 🙂

  7. I have similar reading habits, so I have shelves full of books I’ve yet to read. I can completely relate to the joy of scanning those shelves and deciding what I’d like to read next – having that choice. Having said that, I have a compulsion to buy new books too, and although I say I’ll read them, I’m not sure I will any time soon. Especially as there are some on my shelves I haven’t read in years and I enjoy to go back and spend time with those characters again! Still, like you say – reading is a blessing and there are far worse things to be addicted to, than the temptation of a new book 😀

  8. Yes. I have too many books and handbags. I don’t know what they have to do with each other, but I have bookcases of books and boxes of pocketbooks. That felt good.

  9. I buy as I read. And I borrow from the library. I’m an insomniac – I read 4-5 books a week if I’m lucky, a book or more per night if I’m not.

    • Using the library is definitely a great way to read-as-you-go. Sadly I don’t have a particularly good one near my home and if I’m honest, I’m a sucker for wanting to own my own.

      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

