13 comments on “Is Silence Golden?

  1. I always listen to music as well. Well. More than not. I’m also more haphazard about my poetry and it made me laugh a little bit comparing it to your words. 🙂

  2. I can relate to that. I guess there’s a benefit to getting into a whimsical state of mind, depending on what you’re writing. My brain switches off when I’m in the zone, but there is the power of the subconscious. That said, sometimes it’s a distraction because I want to sing along!

  3. I find it’s easier to concentrate on writing with headphones in. The music I listen to varies depending on my mood, but the other thing it helps with is my girls. They know if they see the headphones in, I’m writing, and I’m not to be disturbed. Smart kiddos. 🙂

  4. I was just thinking about you when I ran across this. :] You know how I feel about music – I do without it only when absolutely necessary. Songs that already feel like they tell a story – with good instrumentation and vocals to support it – are my favorite; they just glide me along the path to my own story, somehow.

Leave a Reply

