12 comments on “Let’s Talk Poetry!

  1. Great idea for a post, Callum, and thanks for the mention. I’m reading a poem or two every night from Seeking Solace, taking my time to savor each one. GREAT work! I, too, love poetry, and have been writing poems since I was five, though now, they mostly don’t include cowboys. 🙂 (I say mostly, because you just never know with me.)

    My favorite poet of all time is probably Amy Lowell. I just love her beautiful, rich, evocative descriptions. A favorite of mine is her poem Purple Grackles, which I read every autumn when the birds invade my yard arriving for the winter in Florida, as they invaded hers just before heading here. I love pretty much everything of hers, but that’s a major favorite.

    I’m also very fond of reading Poe out loud, especially The Bells and of course, The Raven. And I confess that I love all the poets I read years ago in high school, from Whitman to Sandburg to Tennyson, Frost, Riley, Dickinson (oh, YES!), and well…you get my drift.

    It was a natural that I’d want to put together a small collection of some of my recent poetry when I started publishing novels, so Summer Magic: Poems of Life & Love was born. A small book with a huge helping of personal excitement at finally having some poems “out there.”

    Can’t wait to read what everyone else has to say. And I swear, Callum, I’m trying to catch up enough to read every one you’ve been posting. I know I’ll love them, and hope to read them in the next day or so, at most. Keep ’em coming!

    • You’re very welcome for the mention and I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying Seeking Solace so far.

      I just looked up ‘Purple Grackles’ on your recommendation – Wow, I loved it! I’ll definitely try to look into more of Lowell’s work 🙂

      I’m fond of Poe as well. I remember being bowled over when I first read ‘Annabel Lee’, and of course, ‘The Raven’ is wonderful.

      As you know from my review, I loved Summer Magic, and I’m always happy to know fellow writers who share my equal love of both fiction and poetry.

      • Yes, finding fellow poetry lovers is wonderful, isn’t it? Maybe it’s making a bit of a comeback in popularity? I’m glad you loved Purple Grackles. They are the most entertaining of birds, fairly large, and they strut and preen, and think themselves so important. You can almost hear them proclaiming “Ah. Live is GOOD when you’re a grackle!” Lowell’s poetry is full of vivid imagery and pathos, often, but a surprising amount of humor, as well. Her most famous poem is probably “Patterns.” Check that one out for sure. But just about any you click on is going to be good. She was very prolific, and quite an interesting woman, too, especially for her time.

        Thank you again for your kind comments on Summer Magic. It was definitely a vanity thing, but I’m always thrilled when someone else enjoys it. I’m going to submit it to CreateSpace one of these days, so I have a copy for my own bookshelf and for gifts to fellow poetry lovers. 🙂

        Have a great day, Callum!

        • I certainly hope so, and I suppose initiatives like National Poetry Month play their part in that resurgence, with activities in schools and whatnot hopefully sparking an early interest in children.

          I’ve sometimes thought that a love of poetry is something that is built up over time since it’s often not as immediately approachable as fiction. That said, I think that’s why poetry lovers are often so passionate about literature and language; they’ve put in the time and effort to come to appreciate it all the more.

          Ah, yes. There really is nothing like seeing your own books nestled comfortably on your bookshelf 🙂

          Have a lovely day, Marcia! 🙂

  2. I’ve always loved poetry, and though I’ve tried hard to write it, I always fail to capture what’s in my heart. I love language, enjoy to create other worlds, but I can’t seem to do that with verse! So I stick to reading poetry and enjoying the beauty of it through other people’s words. I’m partial to Thomas Hardy, despite the fact he was forced down my throat in A-level English lit! Shakespeare is a master, and I too like Edgar Allan Poe – I remember Dream-Land quite fondly. Now I just eat it up. I’m fortunate you provide such beautiful poems for me to devour, and you know how much I love the collection 🙂

    • I remember a few brilliant poems you shared in response to prompts a while back, so I think you’re being hard on yourself! 🙂 That said, your passion and flair for fiction comes through strongly in your work, so if that’s where your efforts will continue to be focussed, you won’t hear me complaining 😉

      I’m so glad you enjoyed Seeking Solace. Your support has always been an enormous help.

  3. My “getting back into” poetry has been pretty sketchy. It just doesn’t feel the same to my Brian so whenever I have an idea, it never occurs to me to jot it down until later when I’ve naturally forgotten what it was I wanted to write in the first place. It’s a whole new ball game.

    My favorites poems are The Wasteland by T. S. Eliot, Gacela of the Dark Death by Frederico Garcia Lorca, a fuck ton by Edgar Allen Poe and, I’m certain, a handful I’ll only recall in the wee hours of the night while I hover on that elusive cusp of wakefulness and slumber.

    • I definitely learned that trying to get a poem down ‘in the moment’, at least in rough form, made a big difference, so I hear you on that one.

      ‘while I hover on that elusive cusp of wakefulness and slumber’ – That right there is pretty poetic in itself. Maybe you’re better at this than you think 😉

Leave a Reply

