19 comments on “One Lovely Community

  1. Congratulations – you deserve the award. I enjoyed reading your responses. Your kitten sounds adorable, demonic possession aside. I used to have a kitten, the most adorable little thing, but she took a dislike or maybe a liking to my youngest daughter and would fly at her hair without thought or provocation. Needless to say Grace doesn’t like cats very much and the kitten went to stay with a family member who owns a farm. She now tortures all the other animals and stares at people with contempt – but she’s still kind of cute!

    I can completely relate to the books. I’m a bit of a hoarder too. The thought of giving them away, or throwing them out (as some people do), gives me nightmares. And I love the smell of books; old and new. A fact which amuses my family to no end 🙂

    • Thank you very much!

      Yes, she’s quite the loving little bundle of joy until she catches sight of one of the other pets, then she turns into a fearless ninja of sorts 😉

      I’m glad I’m not the only one. Even books that I’m not likely to read again still warrant a place on my bookshelves. There’s something so powerful about the memories attached to a book or even the time in your life when you first read it, or the story behind how you came to own it. They really are beautiful things.

      As for the smell, it’s divine! It’s like a prelude to the wonder waiting to be found within the pages themselves.

      • Poetically put as always 🙂 You can always trust a writer to explain things so eloquently. I can’t get the image of a ninja cat out of my head now! I’ll try not to dress her in a little costume or she might haunt me in my sleep!

  2. Hahaha “a grand total of 4 books.” Nice! That must be quite the feat. I know the feeling, though. I have books I don’t even ever plan on reading sitting on my shelves hahah.

    • The internal dialogue I went through with pretty much every book went something along the lines of, “I haven’t read this in years… I’ll never read it again… but it’s pretty… I’ll keep it.”

      At least I tried! 😉

  3. Congratulations 🙂
    Ah, the book hoarding…. I’ve had to VERY ruthlessly purge my book collection a few times for 3,000+ mile moves. This last time I managed to part with 1/4 of my collection — I now have a very long list of “books I can buy if I want to read them again” — because that was the major criteria for getting rid of the books, would I be able to easily buy a replacement copy if needed. I still miss them…

    • Thank you 🙂

      That’s a good tip actually! If I’m brave enough to attempt another purge, I’ll keep that one in mind. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels the emotional pull of a good book.

  4. Congratulations! I feel the same way about getting rid of books. I have a ton of books and some I might never read but thinking about getting rid of any just makes me cringe.

  5. Congrats on the nomination, though it’s no surprise! 😀

    Great facts as well, always fun to learn more about fellow bloggers.

    I am not a coffee fan either, definitely tea all the way!

Leave a Reply

