23 comments on “Edit, Edit, Edit…

  1. I’ve actually been enjoying my editing… But perhaps that’s because it’s not all that separated from my writing just now, alternating between the two within the week so I feel like it’s all part of the same process. Ask me again when I’m working on a full novel edit and I may have a different answer!

  2. Editing is such an interesting time. It has to be done because it makes the book better, but sometimes it can be such a struggle! 😀

    I’m so glad to hear it is going smoothly, that definitely does deserve to be documented!

    • Definitely, it’s the strange feeling of being excited that your story has been told but frustrated that so much work still has to be done.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. Don’t even joke about jinxing your smooth progress…you have people waiting to get their hands on your next book! For me, it depends if the inner editor wants to play nice! Right now we aren’t speaking to each other, but that’s okay, she’ll get over it 😉

  4. I hate editing, but I”m starting to enjoy it a bit more. It’s definitely needs to be done. I went through a phase where I tried to write the book perfect the first time so I could avoid editing; it isn’t really the best idea. I’m glad you’re finding your edits to be easier this time around. I once heard an author say he/she edit their manuscripts even after they get published. I guess more editing can always be done.

  5. To be honest, I hate editing. I hate every second of it. It takes me ages to get started and when I finally do start, I am wishing all the time that it’s over lol. 🙂 I know that it’s a necessary evil, but it’s still evil! 😉
    Lots of love
    Patty

  6. I’m currently editing as well, and found that I have a love/hate relationship with it LOL. Maybe the accurate way to say it would be I love HAVING edited, when you realize you’ve found the fix and it actually works.

  7. I am constantly editing and/or rewriting while I write new content to later rewrite/edit….

    This kind of process does slow things down a ton more than writing a draft straight, then editing. I did “write first, edit later” method for NaNo’12 and I got a fair amount finished quantity-wise, but when I went in for the rewrite, there was an overwhelming amount of work to be done in plot structuring. So, I prefer to do it in sections so I can double-check plot maneuvers while writing. Usually, its around 3k-6k words, then I edit/rewrite that amount, and then move on to continue the cycle.

  8. “even more aware that this post alone will likely be enough to jinx what good fortune I’ve been having thus far” <— hahahahah! I know the struggle! There are some manuscripts that are easier to edit than others, though. I think it varies with each one.

  9. Editing is something I dread. Creating the initial story is the cream for me. I love coming up with characters and story while rewriting and editing them just doesn’t motivate me but like all writers I have to get stuck into it in order to get to the next project (o;

Leave a Reply

