17 comments on “Little and Often

  1. I went through a phase when I read every day. Now I mostly read what is on wordpress. Some of the best advice I ever got from a writer was: Stop reading! Stop reading so much so that you can write more. I think that is true to some extent, but reading also helps writing in many ways. I hope to get back to reading more novels the rest of year and next, though. I hope you get that pile knocked down a bit.

    I just bought your book yesterday. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    • I can understand the thinking of both. Reading helps to inspire us by engaging our imagination and improving our vocabulary but at the same time, it can be useful to immerse yourself in your own writing and not be influenced or distracted by other stories.

      That’s very kind of you, I hope you enjoy it when you get round to it.

  2. I was doing really well at reading everyday on a night, but I fell out of the habit when things got kind of hectic. Now I’m struggling to get back into the habit! But I agree that little and often is the best approach, at least for me.

    • I’m the same. If I fall out of the habit I really struggle to get back into regular reading. That’s why little and often works best for me too 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. I have an account on Goodreads.com that helps me keep track of what I read, and makes it easier for me to find books and add them to my to-read list. I don’t read on regular basis, and to be honest I am ashamed of the number of books I read per year. Since I got into blogging and writing, I have to become a better reader. I set a reading challenge for myself, which is to read at least 15 novels in 2014. My problem is I am more of a quality reader than a quantity reader; I like to choose my books very carefully and I don’t just read anything.

    • 15 novels a year is not to be sniffed at. That’s a lot more than most people will get through. I have a goodreads account as well but I haven’t used it too much yet. I’m hoping to get into it more soon 🙂

      I’m a sucker for a hard copy though so I have an actual pile sitting staring at me still to get to 😉

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  4. Having unread books on your shelf is a good thing: it ensures a long life, since you have unfinished business and therefore cannot die. Besides, as long as you are reading, it’s all good. Focus on the reading you did, not on the reading you didn’t do. Cheers!

  5. I take a book (or an app!) with me wherever I go. There’s always a point in my day when I get the chance to read something. I’m not a bed-time reader; I’ve learnt my lesson with that one – namely being up long into the night because I couldn’t put the book down! I wish I could get on board with the whole delayed gratification thing, but I’ll never be a patient person! I like to set a day aside if there’s a book I’ve been looking forward to, or has been on my list too long, and get lost in somebody else’s world. It’s strange to think about how our habits change though. I’ve always been an avid reader, but I don’t read as much as I used to. I have an account on GoodReads so maybe it’s about time I used it to monitor my reading list, and get a little more focus. I need things like GoodReads, I have a disorganised mind, one in need of discipline 🙂

    • I like to keep a book handy whenever I’m on a train. There’s something about being surrounded by people yet somehow in your own little world that makes me enjoy reading while travelling. Most of my reading is done at night though, I must admit (and I can certainly relate to staying awake far later than I’d like to when a story grips me!).

      I’m hoping Goodreads will help me stay a bit more focussed as well. The key for me seems to be consistency; if I miss a few days, I really struggle to get back into the swing of things and drift from a story but if I can work away at a book a little each day then I make a lot more progress overall 🙂

      • That makes sense. For me the consistency thing is an issue when editing. We all find it a bind sometimes, but if I avoid it too long I struggle to get back in the zone.

        Procrastination can be a dangerous game; even when I know what’s happening I’m pretty good at claiming ignorance!

        But as for reading, I have this compulsion to finish everything, even if I’m not enjoying it. During those times I have to force myself to read a little bit each day until I get to the end. I’ve been known to skim read academic texts, but it feels like cheating when someone has taken the time to create something valuable (not that academia isn’t valuable). We can’t all like the same thing, but I do try to read across genres, because I also don’t like to miss anything!

        I don’t travel by train very often, but when I do I love to read. It feels like such a waste of valuable reading or writing time to sit in one place for hours and do nothing. So unless I’m staring out of the window and dreaming of other worlds, I’m usually reading, or writing about them!

        They don’t call us dreamers for nothing 🙂

        • I’m guilty of that as well – If I’ve started a story, I’ll be damned if I don’t find out how it finishes 😉

          Well, JK Rowling notoriously got the idea for Harry Potter on a train so if it’s good enough for her, it’s good enough for me 🙂

  6. I have reading days which translates to reading a little bit in spurts. I read weekly. I keep track of most of my reads on good reads. I like how it recommends new books based on my likes. My goal as always is 52 books in a year and at least 12 of them should be writing craft books.

    • 52 in a year is fantastic. I may not keep track but I’m pretty sure I don’t manage as many as that 😉

      Generally I can read a book in a week; even less if it really grabs me – or if it isn’t too lengthy of course – so I suppose it would be achievable in theory but I generally try to stick to reading little and often, since that way I’m able to maintain the momentum consistently.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  7. Pingback: Just sit down and read! | A Writer's Life For Me.

Leave a Reply

