18 comments on “The Ups and Downs of Marketing

  1. Just the thought of marketing makes me cringe. It is so hard to do. You can tell but so many people, post it on sites, blogs, etc for but so long until you 1, become a spammer or 2, start to annoy people. This is tough for me. I appreciate some of the tips you have posted.

  2. I drafted a post similar to this, and of course this one tops it by roughly ten thousand times haha… I’m pretty much with you on the whole thing. Marketing is a finicky bastard.

  3. Thanks for sharing a concise list of marketing ideas. I totally agree with the idea of “taking time” in the marketing process and keeping to your interests. Marketing is hard enough and will be even harder if you don’t care about your blog or tweets or those you have to read. I don’t think there is any wrong way to market, and new ways can always be invented. And I think word-of-mouth is really still a very important part of it. Another big part is determination and time. Sometimes it just takes a lot of work and a lot of time to successful. Some others take years. I’ve heard writing a second book quick is a good help, too. Lots of options, but again a lot of it is hard. Nice post.

    • Absolutely. It’s never going to be an easy process but that’s just it; it’s a process and there are no quick fixes. As you said, determination and perseverance are key.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and thanks for having a look at my book as well, I’m glad it piqued your interest 🙂

  4. I was told the best and only way you should be looking to market as a writer is by releasing more books. Which is a lovely thought and maybe over time that will work, but in reality, unless people know you’re out there then they aren’t going be buying any books, no matter how many you release 😀

    Marketing is such a tough thing, I don’t like doing at all really, and I struggle with social media as I find it can be incredibly exhausting. So I try my best to support others and hope they will do the same. In the end, I hope my writing and any reviews I receive will help to push my books. Word of mouth, as you say, can be one of the best ways!

    • I think that’s what’s so great about connecting with other writers. We can all relate to the difficulty in trying to get attention for our work and can help spread the word for each other 🙂

  5. Great post, Callum. Unfortunately I don’t have any fresh ideas, but I’m with you and Mishka on the whole support network angle. I think building up a ‘posse’ is a great way to go. Not only do you get an endorsement from a fellow professional, you also get the benefit and encouragement from people who know exactly what you’re going through. It’s a win-win 🙂 I think you should definitely explore Goodreads – when I learn more about how to use it, I’ll add you to my ‘network’ (my ignorance is showing!)

    • Absolutely. I think that’s why blogging is by far my favourite form of marketing. The focus is on forming friendships and connections that are based on mutual respect and appreciation, be they writer/reader or writer/writer. You get all the benefits of marketing without really feeling like that’s what you’re doing. It’s far more personal and approachable I think 🙂

  6. Hi, I enjoyed reading your article. You give good advice. I have found Goodreads to be a good source of reviews and sales. I believe that half my meager sales have come from this site. Therefore, I highly recommend it.

  7. Genuine interaction. That is the best marketing that can come directly from the writer. No writer wants to push their book on someone who won’t like it. It is a lot like match making.

    Next is support from the writing and reading community. They don’t want to push your book on someone who won’t like it either.

    The best platform is the one that reaches writers and readers, but most importantly one that you use.

    It isn’t selling. It isn’t begging. It’s match making.

    • I couldn’t have said it any better. There’s nothing more frustrating for writers or readers to have to resort to relentless spam to get your name out there. The best marketing is the kind that doesn’t feel like marketing because the focus is on building genuine connections; that’s why I love blogging.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

