8 comments on “Gems from the Past

  1. During my late childhood and my early teenage years I would buy or borrow from my friends R.L Stine books (He’s an American writer who writes horror-ficition books for children and young adults). I also loved to watch horror movies and psychological thrillers. My two favorites were The Sixth Sense and The Others.
    As my English language improved (I’m not a native speaker) I was able to explore the world of English and American Literature. Then I discovered the Gothic-fiction genre. My favorite type of books to read now is Gothic Literature.

    So I would say that books and movies I liked in the past lead me to what I am inclined to and made me understand more about my taste in fiction.

    • That’s great, I definitely think our childhood is often the time we discover the stories that we most connect to and that they can really stick with us.

      Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts 🙂

  2. I loved legend. I had a huge crush on Tom Cruise and thought Tim Curry was absolutely magnificent – his voice gets me every time 🙂

    I’m not sure if the films I watched when I was younger shaped my tastes today, but certainly I’ve always been drawn to science fiction and fantasy in literature. I’m sure you know my love of Marvel, so I won’t even go down that road!

    I’m showing my age now, but I loved John Hughes movies. The Breakfast Club and St Elmos fire are favourites and they got me through some hard times! To me, they are my childhood (god, I can be so sentimental!).

    Great post. It’s nice to look back and see how our tastes develop 🙂

    • Tim Curry was fantastic and I totally agree; THAT voice is incredible in the role.

      It’s fascinating how so many of us seem to associate the stories – be they in the form of books or movies – with such strong memories of our childhood. It just goes to show the power of good storytelling 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

  3. Oh man! I love this movie 😀 I think it also shaped my love of stories, especially high fantasy ones with a strong romance. I loved all the elements and characters in it, and how easy it was to get lost in the movie and story 🙂

Leave a Reply

