10 comments on “Lucky Number Seven

  1. Intriguing snippet, and perfect for your readers because now I want to know more. I have a dozen questions in my head and that anticipation will only build because I’m familiar with your work. It’s a great exercise, because it gives us freedom too. Now…hurry up with the novel!

    • Thank you, Mel. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the snippet. It’s scary putting unfinished work out there (or finished work for that matter) so it’s encouraging to know you had a positive response 🙂

      • I know what you mean. I have a tendency to edit the hell out of a post it note, so you can imagine how nervous I sometimes get at putting my words out there! It gets easier I think. The more flash fiction I write, the easier it becomes. At least that’s how it is for me personally. But, yes, putting something unfinished and unedited out into the world is a daunting prospect. We can be easily influenced and at such an early stage, that can be damaging.
        That said, we’re all writers and we know how a piece of work evolves and develops. There’s something very exciting about a project in its infancy and that excitement extends to those you share it with 🙂

        • I totally agree and I hope taking part in exercises like this one will help to make it a little easier 🙂

          Especially when in an early stage, our WIP is completely our own and we focus so much on telling a story we enjoy (which is important) but that makes it hard to tell sometimes how an audience will relate to it. Forcing ourselves to put snippets out there so we can see how they work and if people engage with them can really help 🙂

Leave a Reply

