11 comments on “Preserving the Past

  1. Give me a paper book so I can actually turn the pages. Yes, I do use my Kindle Fire for many things, including downloading short books I can’t find available in a library for school, but for the majority of books, give me the real thing.

    I use CDs and an MP3 player for music, but I remember when we used to own my grandfather’s record player. We used to play so many of those records over and over again. Unfortunately, it all got left behind when we moved, and I really miss it.

    • I totally agree. There’s just so much charm and warmth in a real book. Convenience is all well and good but it could never match that feeling for me.

      Thank you very much for reading and sharing your thoughts.

  2. When it comes to music, I am all digital, but when it comes to the written word, I’m a little from column A and a little from column B. I’ve found a happy medium in that I love physical copies, but I don’t pass up e-exclusive offers based on my preference for them.

    • I think striking that balance between the two is a good way to be. Both have their place in our lives and benefits to offer. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. Great discussion. I am a total Kindle lover; to be honest the only pages I enjoy turning now are from magazines and cookbooks. I still enjoy a book in hand for some reference purposes but once I got the Kindle in 2008 I was sold. I bought new versions of the Kindle and now the PaperWhite which is my absolute favorite. I love it for the front light, while reading in bed. I love increasing the font for tired eyes at 1am when I still can’t put my book down. I love the ease of carrying with me. I love classics and samples chapters are free. I love highlighting and making notes (which I would never do in my hard copies) so that I can revisit scenes etc… I love pre-order and immediate gratification. I read more now than I ever did. Plus my husband is happy my book shelves are now less stacked and dusty.

    Funny story – we bought my mother-in-law a Kindle and she wanted to re-read Harry Potter before the last movie and had trouble because of the size and weight, she was missing the lightness of the Kindle in her hands.

    To each there own, I like both but eBooks are for me for sure.

    • I think Kindles are great and I too probably read more now than I used to before I got mine. I still only have a basic model – no touch screens or anything like that – but I have been thinking of updating.

      When my to read list seems to grow faster than I can get through it, I must admit I love the simplicity of just downloading a couple of titles and saving time, money and shelf space. Anything I read on a Kindle that I love and know I will want to re-read and treasure for years to come I am likely to get a physical copy of though. For me, Kindles are all about speed, access and ease, while books maintain memories, comfort and charm. Both definitely have their important parts to play and I truly believe that one doesn’t have to exist to the detriment of the other. Like you say, to each their own! 🙂

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.

  4. I can’t seem to let go of pen and paper. I know that writers no longer have to hammer away at typewriters, and that modern machines are easy to use, but I still like to see my words written down. Sometimes when I type straight into word and edit as I go, without ever using ink, it feels less ‘alive’. It sounds odd, but the creative process flows more freely with a pen. It’s not just about the speed – we all think faster than we can write or type. It’s some that’s personal to me, an idiosyncrasy perhaps. I’m using a computer more and more, but there are times when it still feels forced. When I have a pen in my hand it’s like magic – the conduit to which the writer within feels the most comfortable! Interesting post. I think it’s a good position to be in – embracing the new, whilst still maintaining respect for what came before.

    • Absolutely. There is so much more feeling, warmth and individuality that comes across in something handwritten. Everyone will be different but for me, I can type faster than I write so for convenience that makes sense but can also see that writing by hand would force me to work slower and process my thoughts and ideas more intricately, which could actually be a good thing.

      I do the bulk of my work on my laptop – The pieces for my freelance work, as the sooner they are ready to be sent off to clients the better, as well as manuscripts for books and short stories mostly for safe keeping purposes. I love handwriting plans for creative work though and have been known to scribble a few poems using good old humble pen and paper at first. I also have a notebook I love that I write completed character lists in once I have finalised a plan for a project to help keep track of names I’ve used. Once again I think it’s about striking that healthy balance between the two worlds and creating a work life that can allow both to co-exist.

      Thanks for deepening the topic. That was an interesting point to raise 🙂

      • Thanks 🙂 talking of keeping track of characters – I’ve tried a variety of different tools to track changes and background information, but none work as well as the wipeboard – at least not for me. It’s like you said; it’s about striking a balance and using what works.

Leave a Reply

