15 comments on “Book Loyalty

  1. I can only read one book at a time. I am able to listen to an audio at the same time as reading a paperback or my Kindle, but that’s it. I prefer to not have my “book world” attention divided between multiple novels.

    -RB

    • That’s a great point. I’ve only listened to a few audio books in the past but it’s something I’ve been meaning to try more. All the joy of reading with half as much effort 😉

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  2. I can read two books (maximum) at the same time, but I don’t like to do it. Why? Because I always start a comparison in my head between the two books, which is unfair. The two books can be different genres, different style of writing…etc so I shouldn’t be comparing them. It will probably interfere with my judgment and reviewing the books. Sometimes I’d ask myself “if I had read that book alone, would I have liked it?”.

    • That’s a very good point. Every book has its own story to tell and deserves the chance to do so without comparison to separate works. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

  3. It depends on the story, for me. Either I am mildly interested in a book and so I decide to read something else at the same time to suit my moods, or I have a really good book that I just can’t put down. Sometimes, I will have a book on the go for months because I just can’t get into it enough to devour it in one sitting.

  4. I pretty much am always reading three books at a time. One physical, one on my Kindle phone app and one on my NOOK. I find it refreshing to switch back and forth because one may not always be available when I wanna read.

    Also, it says something of a book when it can hold my attention over the span of two other contending books.

    • I wish I could manage three books at once; two is my limit at the moment. That’s a fair point about it being a good sign about the books that manage to stand out amongst the others you are reading, I guess I just get drawn in too easily! 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  5. I am like you, I can only read one book at a time. When I read, I have to give myself over to that story completely, to get lost in it. That’s just the way I read, and well, do everything really. I have to put my whole into it, my undivided attention 😀

  6. I tend to read one at a time. The only time I’ve really ran one beside another is when my heart wasn’t in the first one, and then I tend to just not ever finish the other one anyway and it forever sits with a bookmark in it!

    • I have a few of those books as well. I leave the bookmark sitting firmly in place with every good intention of finishing the story but I keep finding new ones that just grab my attention and lead me away from it. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  7. I usually have two or three on the go. One is usually by a favourite author, one I’m reading for research – right now it’s a book about serial killers! and one that I call an ‘easy’ read. I often have a lot of ‘down time’ as an interpreter, and I like to have something to hand to pass the time. It depends how long I’ve got as to which I choose! I’ve always been able to separate the stories, but there are times when I become so hooked by a story that it dominates my time 🙂

    • Wow, a book on serial killers – That must be equally as difficult as it is fascinating to read.

      I’m hoping to train myself to work on more books at once but two is still my limit for now, I just seem to get too easily sucked into a story, which I suppose isn’t always such a bad thing! 🙂 I keep meaning to use more audio books as well to help get through the mass of titles in my to read pile.

Leave a Reply

