7 comments on “Sharing Beauty

  1. Some great suggestions, will definitely check them out. My mum loves poetry and used to read it to me and my sister when we were young, it certainly gave me a love for reading it, even if I can’t write it! 🙂

  2. Beautiful poems. My favorites are definitely “Annabel Lee” by Edgar Allan Poe and “Lodged” by Robert Frost. They’re both quite sad, but so very beautiful. 🙂

    • I’ve read “Annabel Lee” before and love it, it’s beautiful. I hadn’t read “Lodged” before but wow, I just checked it out. So short yet so powerful. Thanks for the great recommendations. 🙂

  3. I enjoyed reading this post, and learning more about what and who inspires you. I love poetry. There have been times when I found it challenging, but those times don’t take away from the beauty of it. During my A levels, like many people, I studied Thomas Hardy and I struggled with the darker poems. The same can be said for Poe, though a few of his pieces are so intricate, peeling back the layers was an absolute pleasure. The only poem I’ve read by Robert Burns moved me to tears, and Lord Byron can cut right to the heart of the matter.

    I enjoy poetry in all its forms, wherever it comes from, and I love poems that take me on a journey and use powerful imagery to help me get there. This is one of your skills, and as you know, I’m a fan of your work. Great poems are the ones that stay with you, comfort and inspire you, and speak to you in a way nothing else can. At least that’s the way I see it. Thanks for sharing the ones that speak to you.

    • Wonderful choices. Hardy is one of my absolute favourite writers in terms of prose and I’ve been wanting to explore more of his poetry. As for Burns, his work holds a special place with me, especially given that I myself am from Scotland.

      “Great poems are the ones that stay with you, comfort and inspire you” – Beautiful words and a description of an outlook on poetry that I could never better. Thank you for the response.

      • I once had the pleasure of taking part in a ‘Burns’ night. A colleague of mine at the time, who loves tradition and is a proud Scotsman, organised the event and included me in the festivities. It remains a treasured memory.

Leave a Reply

