10 comments on “Is It Set In Stone?

  1. I regretted not paying enough attention to one character in particular and naming him without thought to his personality. I’d assumed I’d never ‘see’ him again. Unfortunately Barry had other ideas…turns out he’s a genius! He got a supporting role in the next book and eventually will have one of his own. The problem is I don’t like his name, but as the first book was in print I couldn’t change it. I still don’t like it. It doesn’t fit the image of him in my head, or his personality. He’s a great character too.

    I suppose it’s in reverse of what JK was talking about. As you know I’m not a planner, and even when I do have an outline, or notes about how I want a story to turn out, the characters normally decide themselves at the end of the day. I allow a certain amount of flexibility!

    Thanks for the interesting post.

    • I suppose examples like the one Rowling spoke of highlight the sometimes overlooked advantage of winging it to a certain extent and allowing stories to form themselves as they are written.

      Interesting response regarding character names. I suppose it may give you the drive to work even harder to allow the character you created to overcome any misconceptions that may come with his name.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

  2. Interesting post. I’m not sure if I would be able to change anything major. Once I have a set idea for how the story will play out, I try to stick with it. However, it might be different if the change makes the story flow better or makes sense. I really need to start working on my story more. I’m sure my opinion might change once I actually start writing.

    • I know what you mean, it’s difficult to know how much we’d be able to bring ourselves to change unless we’ve ever felt a real need to do it. I suppose the hardest thing would be undoing so much existing work but if the overall story would benefit then it would probably feel worth it in the long run.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  3. Great post, and very topical for me right now. I am editing my current book and there is a character and a scene that I am tempted to take out, but I am loathed to do because I love it 😀 We have to make hard choices as writers sometimes, even if they go against original plans, in the end our instinct is the thing to follow.

    • I definitely agree. If there’s anything harder than the initial writing of a scene, it’s cutting it out altogether, but if we know something isn’t working and it’s for the greater good of the story, we must all make sacrifices.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

