13 comments on “Slow and Steady

  1. Short chapters, I love them! 😀 I am the same, I like to move the story on at a fast pace, but also in today’s busy world, it’s easier to read a couple of chapters then try and struggle through a long chapter and feel bad about putting it down in the middle and forgetting where you were.

  2. Short chapters can be good to keep you flipping through the book pretty fast, but sometimes a long chapter here and there is good too!
    I really like the pacing in the Hunger Games series. That’s always a good one to base off of if you are writing a plot based book.

    • Yes, I think The Hunger Games books do have great pacing and I agree that an occasional longer chapter works well to create a feeling of calm within a frantic story.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts 🙂

  3. I like shorter chapters as a reader. I also like short, punchy sentences. I can cope with a longer chapter if there’s a natural break or transition, but it can be a little daunting when you know there are pages and pages to go at and no break in sight! Sometimes I forget that when I’m writing. It won’t surprise you to know I can get a little carried away and the chapters run on. I try to break them, but that’s never an easy task. It is something I’m working on.

    Thanks for an interesting post. I must check out your book.

    • I feel the same way. If I’m reading with a time restriction or when I’m starting to feel tired, I often quickly count how many pages are in the next chapter. If it’s a lot I too feel a bit daunted and would prefer to call it quits for the night rather than end up stopping half-way through. That’s why short chapters generally work well for me; I’d rather read a little than nothing. Interspersed long chapters can work really well to break tension and provide a breather for readers though.

      That’s very kind. I’ve been meaning to check out more of your work as well, I really must make a point of getting to it soon! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  4. I prefer shorter chapters, especially in Thrillers, for the same reasons you mentioned. I don’t write novels but I do write poetry. And yes, my writing style changed after I started reading Edgar Allan Poe’s poetry. I was greatly influenced by him.

  5. For me, it definitely depends on what I am writing, and what the tone/style is. Sometimes I do want that “artsy” feel, and will opt for little structure. I guess the stories just tell me what they want!

Leave a Reply

