11 comments on “Did You Plan This?

  1. What a great point, about poetry being a snapshot and stories being more intricate, I think that is really true. I don’t write poetry, so I can’t say anything on that, but stories I do have to plan out quite a lot for me to be able to flow with them well. I’m just that type of person I guess 😀

    A really great post, it’s nice getting insight into how other writers work 🙂

    • Thank you – and thanks for giving me the inspiration for the post. I think that’s what is so great about the blogging community as we not only learn things from each other but the new perspectives we see even help us learn things about our own existing processes! 🙂

  2. I wonder if it’s also linked to personality, or partly anyway? I’m not sure, I’ll have to think on it! I’ve said before that I’m not a planner, and this is reflected in my journey as a writer. I’m getting better at the planning, and when I’ve written something I do a lot more planning in the editing process. But when I’m doing the first draft, even for a novel, I rarely plan. I go with the flow and let the characters do the talking.

    I’ve given this a great deal of thought in the past six months. Sometimes my writing suffers because of the lack of structure, so I’m finding a process that works.

    But I think of it in the same way you do when writing poetry. It’s a snapshot in time and when I allow a character to have a voice, with only the slightest destination in mind, I find it extremely freeing to let them run with it and in whatever order they want!

    Interestingly I started off writing poetry as a child, and haven’t written any in a number of years. Then, inspired by you and a few other poets within the community I’m finding I enjoy writing poetry – it doesn’t have to be a scary experience. I approach a poem in the way I approach everything else. I go with the flow and edit it afterwards!

    Excellent post, by the way. My thoughts were running on a little then, so I must apologise 🙂

    • Don’t apologise! It’s fascinating reading about the processes other people use and I can absolutely understand your desire to let character and intuition guide you throughout your writing.

      To know that some of the poems I have written may have given you even the tiniest glimmer of inspiration is a wonderful feeling. All I can say is thank you! 🙂

  3. I’m very similar to you in terms of planning. Poetry is something spontaneous to me, and I have to be in the mood for it. When I am, it just does what it wants and I let it.

Leave a Reply

