7 comments on “Leading Ladies

  1. Great post, I agree with you here, it seems that women are a lot more empathetic than men. Ellen Ripley is one of my all time favourite characters in film, probably because, despite the fact that I’ve never been the sole survivor of a horrible massacre on a ship, I relate to her. It’s really interesting that people respond this way, really.

  2. Hi, Callum – interesting post. First I have to say that Ripley is one of my favourite female characters. She knows how to get the job done! I don’t really have a preference. A number of strong male and female leads (books or film) spring to mind, and I like them for different reasons. I guess, as a reader and observer, we see and look for different things. Depending on my mood I’m drawn to intelligent characters, and those who are unique in some way. I absolutely adore Johnny Lee Miller’s interpretation of Holmes, but equally Lucy Liu is fantastic as Joan Watson. I like a good ‘geek’ and of course I’m partial to superheroes! Robert Downey Jnr’s interpretation of Tony Stark stands out. He plays it beautifully. I like Scarlett’s Black Widow and Mark’s ‘Hulk’ is sublime.
    Thanks for posing the question. I’ll stop there because I could go on forever! My point is simply that I agree with you. I don’t like the stereotypes so uniqueness stands out to me. Having said that, we each have our own preferences and I’m drawn to intelligence so that is bound to affect how I view a character.
    Mel

    • Very good point; I think it’s uniqueness and the ability to defy the norm that really draws me to a character. I suppose that’s why female leads often appeal to me as for so long they always had to adhere to certain stereotypes. As you said though, I could equally enjoy a story with a captivating male lead so long as they had something interesting to offer as a character. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

  3. Great post, and good point. I think I do tend to find it easier to empathise with a female character, especially if they are going through a struggle, you can of get behind them and want them to make it 😀

    • I agree, it has always seemed easier for me to engage and empathise with female leads as not only do they have struggles to overcome in terms of the story but they also have years worth of stereotypes to break through. Thanks for taking the time to comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

