14 comments on “Drowning in Books

  1. A little of both. I can relate to having a pile of books, waiting like an ever increasing mountain; a mountain promising adventure if I just had the time to climb it! Then there are the research books and papers, the writing tools and other literature I’ve promised myself to look at. It’s a little daunting. But there are those authors, ones who stand out, that go to the top of the pile. It’s like they call to me, reminding me of all I enjoyed the last time round. So when something new comes out I get it and devour it within days!

    Your handy new tool sounds useful – something to stop the avalanche, because it’s bound to happen and I’ll be lost in a pile of books 🙂 Thanks for the post. Mel

    • “A mountain promising adventure” – I love that analogy. That’s exactly how I feel about it!

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. Also, I’m hoping to put forward a post for your latest Featured Fiction once submissions open up 🙂

      • You’re welcome 🙂

        Thank you for bringing to my attention the mistake I made with the link-up button. Submissions should have been open, so I apologise for the mix – up. It should be good to go as soon as you’re ready 🙂 Thanks so much for taking part. Mel

  2. You’re just like me. I always seem to buy books and then they sit on the shelf for a long time because I can’t resists bringing five others home from the library. I have a handful of books I have yet to read sitting along side a handful of books I have read many times over.

  3. The pile is growing, despite my best efforts to stop purchasing new books! The annual Swedish book sale was just on last week, mind, so … well, I made promises and I broke those promises and another 2 (which I thought was a rather self-controlled number!) brand new novels are now presiding on the shelf.

    I have a strategy to structure my reading and sort of avoid the imminent panic attacks triggered by the ratio of novels out there:novels I realistically can read – at all times I work one classic novel (atm lots of Dickens) and one “modern” or contemporary (Murakami all the way this month). This way, I can at least pretend to be working through the infinite list, ever growing, ever extending.

    The way I see it, keep on buying books and read them when you get the chance – the beautiful thing about books is that they don’t have an expiration date!
    Jo S.

    • I love your idea of always having a piece of classic literature on the go. I haven’t read as much of it as I feel I should so I may follow your lead on that one!

      I also completely agree that a good story will never lose it’s quality, so even though it may take a while to get round to finally reading some books, they’re usually worth the wait 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  4. I have tons of books that I still need to read. My to-be-read pile is massive, and I’m hoping to eventually read all the books I own. That journal sounds really interesting. I usually try to add books to my wishlist on Goodreads or Amazon, so I know to come back to them later. I really like getting bargain books, so I’ll wait for the books I want to go on sale or have their prices reduced. It makes me feel a little better about buying new books when I have so many to read, haha.

    • I feel the same way – If a book is cheap, it’s the perfect excuse for me to convince myself I should buy it right away in case the price rises again later. At least that way I can kid myself into thinking it’s justified when I add it to the mountain of books I’m already planning to read 😉

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment 🙂

  5. I try and jot down titles rather than buying them, as I discovered a couple of years ago how my to-read list can very quickly stack up! The kindle does help, as I can store it all rather easily in that little machine. I’m a fast reader, but I tend to only read little bits everyday so it can take a long time to finish a book, so I need a good system to keep it organised, whilst not forgetting things I want to read 😀

    Great post!

    • I wish I’d learnt sooner about jotting them down 😉 You’re right about Kindles saving space and helping keep titles organised, I think that’s where they offer their best use.

      Thanks for your comment 🙂

  6. I always have too many books. But I think it’s due to a subconscious fear that I will run out of things to read. The journal is a great idea. I’m hooked on audiobooks from the library because it allows me to multitask and the books are free! 🙂

Leave a Reply

