8 comments on “Genre Crossing

  1. It can definitely be fun to throw a bunch of different genres into a blender and see what happens. It can get pretty messy, but so what? Self-publishing gives writers the freedom to be as artistically insane as they like. But I do think that confining oneself to a specific genre probably means more sales, as fans of specific genres don’t tend to like writers messing with the formula. Working within the restrictions of a genre, however, can also force you to be more creative in order to create something original.

    • I agree that traditionally published authors would probably benefit in terms of sales if they kept at least their first few books within the same general area so that they can build an audience. Self-published authors, those who write only for their own pleasure and those who have an already established following who seek out their work based on quality of writing rather than genre have the luxury of being able to write whatever happens to be capturing their imagination at the time.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. I read a good variety of genres, but when it comes to writing, I don’t write in all those genres.
    One of my favorite kind of books to read are thrillers. Ted Dekker thrillers being my favorite. They’re dark and disturbing and full of sick serial killers. But I could never write something like that.
    The genres that I usually stick to when it comes to writing are sci-fi and good ol love stories. And maybe a little mystery thrown in here and there. 🙂

    • I understand exactly what you mean – I’m a fan of a good serial killer story as well and can imagine it would be quite difficult at times for a writer to try and get into the mind of such a twisted character. It’s something I would like to try one day though!

      Sci-fi and mystery are definitely areas I like to explore as well. I think the most important thing is just that we are passionate about the stories we write, regardless of their genre 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Great post and great point! I think writers can feel too constrained sometimes if they stick to one genre, when really, they want to work in lots. I understand the more you write in one type, the better you might become. Still, I think it’s good to spread your wings and go with the flow of where your creativity wants to take you 🙂

    • I definitely agree. First and foremost a writer has to be passionate and excited about the stories they write, so if that means sometimes deviating somewhat from the genre people usually expect from them then so be it!

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. I read anything and everything I can get my hands on! Reading wise, I go across genres and have a favourite author from each. Within my writing, like you, I think there are elements people recognise, but I like to push myself. I try to write in different genres, and I’m indecisive by nature, so can’t really pick a favourite! This is a very interesting post. Thanks for sharing. Mel

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! It’s good to know I’m not the only indecisive one. At times I have so many ideas swirling around in my head I struggle to pick what genre to write in let alone what particular story to tell.

      I think having a ‘voice’ is the most important thing, then so long as you’re passionate about your characters and your stories, you can tackle any genre! 🙂

Leave a Reply

