4 comments on “Close to Home

  1. Thoughtful post. I’ve always liked writing fantasy because I can bend the rules a bit. But I agree that fantasy finds its basis and influences from reality; after all, we’re drawing the connections from things we already know and then just spinning them into a different world. In doing so, however, we explore facets of our own world via the cultures and structures of the fantasy world, and in turn we can learn something from it. It’s always interesting to draw parallels between fantasy and reality — it is not so much an escape as some people may claim but a reflection of reality in an alternate world. 🙂

    • I agree, it’s a fantastic way of making us think objectively about our lives as it’s like holding a mirror up to the parts of our own world that we may perhaps otherwise avoid.

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Great post. I love fantasy, it’s such a great way to just take a break from it all by immersing myself into another world. It really helps to just disconnect me completely for a while and make me dream! 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 I think that’s what’s so great about it – It feels like complete escapism from our day-to-day lives but because it has roots in the real world, it’s still always relevant 😀

Leave a Reply

