10 comments on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Kind of depends for me. When I was younger and working on a series of (very cheesy) mystery novels, I would take my thesaurus and look up keywords from my novels. I would then find related words and try to come up with something that way. Not the best idea. Some of the names I came up with would be embarrassing to admit now. But I was young. My novel Mind Games, which is on the back burner as of right now, I named right from the start. The name just came to me and it stuck. The two novels I am currently working on have yet to be named. One of them I have been working on since…2009 I want to say. And I still haven’t come up with the perfect name.
    I think it’s different for everyone and every piece of work. Naming my work is not my favorite part of the writing process.

    • It’s good to know I’m not the only one without a set process for naming work. For me it’s proven to be best not to worry and just let it come naturally – I think when we come up with a name, however late in the process it may be, we know when it’s right. Thanks for reading!

      • You’re welcome. And I found that when I’ve tried to name something, it’s never satisfying. It seems forced and I’m never happy with the way it sounds. It’s better to wait in my opinion. Look forward to reading more from you:)

  2. Whenever I write…. well…. anything,I ALWAYS struggle with finding the right name for it. Sometimes I just take a random word/sentence out of a song that I really like and use that, but then again, it feels sort of lame and superficial. However, lately I just go through whatever it is that I am writing, re-read it a couple of times and then the right name kind of just pops into my mind. It’s really weird and unexplainable but that is how it is for me 🙂 Anyway, great article!

    • That’s exactly what happened with me. I had written the whole book with a working title I just knew didn’t fit. Then when I read it back properly for the first time, the name just jumped out at me! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. I am like you, I find titles come to me in different ways. I can clearly see what I want some stories to be called before I have even put pen to paper! Other times, I have to wait until the very end and still struggle to think of something 😀 Great post.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! 🙂 It can be a frustrating feeling when we can’t find the right name but I suppose it makes it all the more satisfying when we know we’ve finally managed to get it right.

Leave a Reply

